In 2014, Camp, Cook, Eat!

2014_resolutionsWhen we think of New Year’s Resolutions, we tend to think of things like losing weight, eating healthier, exercising more, etc. Those are all great, but I would challenge you to have at least one or two outdoor cooking resolutions. Here are some to consider:

Try a New Recipe

At home, channel your inner evil mad scientist and try something new at least once a week. It could be a main dish, a side dish, a dessert, or simply a new ingredient. It could be an old family recipe that you put a new twist on or convert to outdoor cooking. Translate this to camp cooking. Don’t just rely on the typical burgers and dogs. When you’re planning your camp menu, throw something new into the mix. It could be a new one-pot dish on the camp stove or making something in a Dutch oven. Whatever it is, get out of your comfort zone because that is where the magic happens! And you may just like what you try!

Get a New Outdoor Cooking Book

Don’t have an outdoor cooking cookbook collection? Now’s a fine time to start one. I highly recommend anything by Tim and Christine Conners. Arriving in my mailbox any day now should be their new Lip Smackin’ Car Campin’ Cookbook. I know what you’re thinking. I need another outdoor cookbook like I need a hole in my head! But I’m always on the lookout for a new recipe to try and I need fodder for this blog!

Cook Outdoors

Now, or when the weather gets warmer, plan to cook something outdoors at least once a week. It could be as simple as firing up the BBQ or cooking in a Dutch oven on your patio. Better yet, actually go camping with friends or family and show them your mad skills—outdoor cooking skills! This brings me to my last resolution.

Go Camping

In scouting, we’re camping at least one weekend every month. I have to multiply that by 2 because I have a daughter who’s a Girl Scout and a son who’s a Boy Scout. In addition, if I’m teaching outdoor skills then I’m camping a third weekend in the month. I don’t expect you to do that much camping, but camping at least once a month is a good goal and it’s good for you, your friends, your family and, especially, your kids to unplug once in a while. It may seem like a lot of work, but the payoff is enormous.

So, there you go. Add one of these to your New Year’s Resolutions. Better yet, add all of them! And, if you’re ever running short of ideas, check this blog. I’ll try to keep them coming.

Categories: Cooking Outdoors | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “In 2014, Camp, Cook, Eat!

  1. Love cooking outside all year round. Last time was Oysters cooked in shell then dipped in butter, garlic and tabisco sauce. This is best time of year to enjoy them.

What's Cooking?!

Blog at WordPress.com.

