Summer Fruit Cobbler

summer_fruit_cobblerThe other day, Lisa, one of my Girl Scout leader buddies, asked if I had any good cobbler recipes for the Dutch oven. Lisa is taking her girls camping in a few weeks and wants to make a cobbler but hasn’t had much success. She was looking for a recipe that was “tried and true,” she said.

Right about the same time, we had a couple of nice, sunny days. I was thinking about spring and summer and so I had to make this one. After all, I couldn’t hand the recipe off to Lisa without making it one more time! Right?!

But, as luck would have it, as I was getting ready to make it yesterday afternoon, the rain clouds moved in and the rain began. Undaunted and under cover on my front porch, I forged ahead and I’m so glad I did.

This is a yummy cobbler. The combination of fruit makes each bite a little different and the little bit of cornmeal in the topping brings a nice flavor and texture to the party. My daughter liked it so much she licked her plate! (She told me I had to write that and that I had to use an exclamation point.)

I had frozen peaches, strawberries, and blueberries in the freezer so that is what I used, but you could use any combination of berries to go with the peaches. Just think summer!

Equipment

12-inch Dutch oven

1 medium mixing bowl (for mixing the topping)

1 large mixing bowl (for mixing the fruit)

Pastry cutter

Measuring cups and spoons

Mixing/serving spoon

Knife

Cutting board

Ingredients for the Fruit Filling

2-2½ pounds fresh or frozen peaches, cored and sliced

2 cups fresh or frozen strawberries, cored

2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries

1 cup sugar (use a little less if your fruit is really sweet)

¼ cup cornstarch

pinch of salt

Ingredients for the Topping

1½ cups all-purpose flour

½ cup stone ground corn meal (coarse or fine)

2-4 tablespoons sugar (adjust it according the sweetness of your berries)

1 tablespoon baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

½ cup (8 tablespoons) cold butter, cut into small pieces

1½ cups cold milk OR ¼ cup dry milk powder mixed with 1½ cups cold water

Prep Work

This could be done in your home kitchen before you go or in your camp kitchen.

For the filling, mix cornstarch, sugar and salt together. Set aside until ready to assemble cobbler or seal in a bag for transport to camp. If you’re using fresh fruit, you could also prep your fruit.

For the topping, whisk all of the dry ingredients together. Add the cold butter and cut into the dry ingredients using a pastry cutter or your hands. The mixture will look like cornmeal with larger, pea-sized pieces of butter remaining. If making in advance, transfer to a large resealable plastic bag or cover bowl with plastic wrap. Chill until ready to make the batter.

Assembly

In camp, you may want to line your Dutch oven with aluminum foil because this recipe is really sticky. Start 25+ coals.

In a large bowl, mix all of the fruit with the cornstarch, sugar and salt mixture. Set this aside to allow the dry ingredients to dissolve. Give it a stir once in a while.

In a separate bowl or using the bag with your topping mixture, combine the milk and the topping mixture.

Pour the fruit filling into the Dutch oven. Carefully pour your topping mixture over the fruit getting a nice, even coverage. You want the batter to sit on top of the fruit.

Bake at 350°F, using 17 coals on the lid and 8 underneath, for 30-40 minutes or until the juices are bubbling and the top is golden brown.

Serve warm with whipped cream or ice cream. Serves 8-10.

Categories: Desserts, Dutch Oven, Recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Summer Fruit Cobbler

  1. I just had to share that this makes a great breakfast! I’ve been eating the leftover cobbler in the morning (when I haven’t had to fight my hubby for it). I just give it a little zap in the microwave to heat it. I was worried that a couple of days in the fridge would make the topping all mushy as it absorbed the fruit juices, but it hasn’t gotten soggy at all. It’s held up amazingly well!

  2. I’ve been camping the last 3 weekends and had a bunch of fruit leftover that needed to be used before it went bad so I made this cobbler last night. I used peaches, strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, raspberries, and mangoes. (I know, wonky, huh?) It came out great and I have to say that I really like how the raspberries compliment the cobbler topping. I may have to include raspberries more often.

  3. Pingback: Old-Fashioned Chocolate Cobbler - Cookes Frontier

  4. Pingback: Easy Blackberry Cobbler — Heart for Home

What's Cooking?!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

