Hash Brown Breakfast Casserole

hashbrown_casseroleI made this for the first time in March on our first Boy Scout campout of the season. It is my friend Susan’s recipe and she usually bakes it in the oven at home or in her RV. We thought it would be perfect for a Dutch oven and it most certainly was. We made this on Saturday morning for the Scoutmasters and it was a cold, crisp morning. This really hit the spot. It was warm, creamy, and filling. It was good all by itself, but when some of us plopped over easy fried eggs on top of it; it suddenly jumped to a whole new level of yumminess.

Because it was so chilly, I probably should have added a few more coals to the Dutch oven or let it bake a little longer. The casserole was cooked all the way through, but I would have liked it a little more brown and toasty. The next time I make this, I will experiment with a hotter oven. I’d also like to add some color to this dish. Maybe add a little green onion and a red or green bell pepper. You could also add some crumbled up bacon to this. Bacon makes just about everything better! I promise to post a revised recipe after I’ve tweaked it a few times!

If you are not going to line your Dutch oven, you could melt the butter in the Dutch oven, add the rest of the ingredients and do all the mixing in the Dutch oven.

Equipment

12-inch Dutch oven or 9×13 casserole dish

Large mixing bowl

Large mixing/serving spoon

Ingredients

2 pounds shredded hash browns

3 tablespoons minced onion

1 pound (16 ounces) sour cream

1 can cream of mushroom soup

½ cup butter, melted

8 ounces shredded cheddar cheese

¼ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon pepper

Prep Work

Start 25+ coals in a chimney.

Mix all ingredients together and pour into the Dutch oven or casserole dish. Bake in a 350°F oven, using 17 coals on the top and 8 coals underneath, for 1 hour or until the hash browns are golden brown. Serves about 16.

Categories: Breakfasts, Dutch Oven, Fan Favorites, Recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Hash Brown Breakfast Casserole

  1. Always a sucker for hash browns. Would 2 pounds of hash browns equate around 4 cups home made hash browns?

    • I’m not sure. I’d have to look at a bag of hash browns and compare weight and volume.

  2. Oh, this just made me so hungry. My boys just came back from a three day camping trip and I’m so anxious to get out myself. I’m definitely bookmarking your hash browns for when I do.

What's Cooking?!

Blog at WordPress.com.

