Caesar Salad Dressing

caesar_saladJuly 4th is National Barbecue Day, National Spareribs Day, and National Caesar Salad Day. There may be others but those are the only ones I could find. To celebrate, I thought I’d post my homemade Caesar salad dressing recipe. Just so you know, up front, there are no anchovies in this recipe. I’m not an anchovy fan, which was one of my motivations for making my own dressing. Anything I found in the store either had anchovies in it or didn’t have anchovies but didn’t taste quite right. So, I did a little research and a little experimenting and I’m really happy with this recipe.

I take a chicken Caesar salad almost every day to work for lunch. My love affair with Caesar salads began when I was pregnant with my first child. I craved and ate Caesar salads and orange juice nearly every day for 9 months and you would think that would have wrecked both for me but I still love both of those to this day. So, here’s my own concoction. Feel free to tweak it to your liking and, if you add anchovies, I won’t hold it against you. If you do want to add anchovies, I’d recommend starting with 2 anchovy fillets.

 

Equipment

Blender or food processor

Measuring cups and spoons

Rubber spatula

Large mason jar or plastic container equivalent

 

Ingredients

1 ½ cups (real) mayonnaise

½ cup buttermilk

½ cup sour cream

¾ cup grated Parmesan

2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar

2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

1 clove garlic, smashed

½ teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon black pepper

 

Prep

caesar_in_jar-with_lidPut the mayonnaise, buttermilk, sour cream, Parmesan, balsamic vinegar, Worcestershire, garlic, salt and pepper into a blender or food processor and pulse the processor or blender on low speed for several seconds. Adjust the consistency if needed with a little extra buttermilk, but not too much. The dressing will thicken when you refrigerate it. Refrigerate the dressing for a few hours before using it on a salad. This will thicken it and marry all the flavors.

I use a large mason jar and I made a little label for the top so everyone knows what it is. For camping, I pour some into a plastic bottle, which goes into my cooler.

Categories: Recipes, Sides | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Caesar Salad Dressing

  1. I love a good Caesar salad and I’m not an anchovies fan either.

  2. Phayvanh Luekhamhan

    Thanks for posting. I will give it a try.

  3. I love Ceasar too, but I’ve never been able to particularly distinguish the flavor of the anchovies in the dressing. The best Caesar I’ve ever had was made right at the table and that was the first time I realized there ever were anchovies in it. I’ll have to give your recipe a try and see if I “miss” the anchovies. I suspect the Worcestershire sauce fills in the flavor profile here. You’ll have to bring a Caesar salad to our next potluck so we can try it out!

    • If the dressing includes a small amount of anchovies I don’t always taste them; however, sometimes it is really strong. I really like this recipe. I’ll have to make it for one of our next gatherings. I think you’ll like it.

What's Cooking?!

Blog at WordPress.com.

