Do I Really Need Another Dutch Oven?!

Well, yes. Yes I do. Don’t you?!

santa_list_2014

Christmas is coming and I’m working on my Santa List. When crafting my annual letter to Santa, I always try to include something that will improve my camping and/or outdoor cooking experience. Because I camp nearly every other weekend three seasons a year, I want to be as comfortable as possible. I also spend a lot of time in my camp kitchen and I want to make sure it’s in the best shape possible for my budget.

This year, I’ve decided that I need a better way to transport my ovens. I usually just set them in the back of my SUV, but if I don’t wedge them in well, then sometimes they tip or the lids slide off and, well, it’s just not a good way to go.

Carry bags are a great way to store and transport your Dutch ovens. They are padded, keep the lid from separating from the bottom, and have a handy strap for carrying. Be sure to check the measurements of the bag against the measurements of your Dutch oven as they can differ slightly from brand to brand.

Also, my lanterns need to be replaced. I believe they are as old as my daughter and she’s a freshman in college this year! My lanterns are very rickety and sometimes they work and sometimes they don’t and if I’m working in my camp kitchen in the evening, I need to see what I’m doing.

I also want to add pie irons to my cast iron collection. I’ve worked with them on some camping trips with friends and they are so much fun. I want some of my own.

So what about you? Is any of your equipment old, worn out or broken, and need replacing? In addition to replacing worn out equipment, are there any upgrades or improvements you can make? Has there been anything new that came out in the last year that you saw and said, “Ooo! I need one of those!” Now’s the time to get it on “The List.”

Maybe you don’t need any anything big this year. How about a new cast iron cookbook? Lodge published a new cookbook earlier this year titled “Lodge Cast Iron Nation: Great American Cooking from Coast to Coast.” It looks promising and has some good reviews. I’ve got it my list.

So, assess your camp kitchen and determine what you need to get cooking better or cooking more in the outdoors? And, if you come across anything good, let me know so I can get it added to my list!

Categories: Cooking Outdoors | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Do I Really Need Another Dutch Oven?!

  1. Carol

    Funny you should ask if any of my equipment needs replacing. I need a new lantern. My daughter borrowed it this fall and said it kept blowing the mantles apart. I knew that one side was not as bright as the other. And the lantern probably is at least as old as she is and she has been out of high school 8 years.

What's Cooking?!

Blog at WordPress.com.

