Perfect Pumpkin Spice Pancakes

pumpkin_pancakes_stack_with_syrup_IMG_0702I’ve been on a bit of a pancake kick lately and I’m adding another to my go-to list.

Back in October, I ran across a recipe for pumpkin spice pancakes and I tried them and, well, they were less than spectacular and my sincere apologies go out to my Girl Scouts, who were my guinea pigs. After that epic fail, I was determined to create my own and after a few batches of trial and errors, I have, at last, reached perfection!

I started with two already awesome recipes, my pancake recipe and my pumpkin pie filling recipe, and set about merging the two together. It took about 5 batches to get the chemistry, spices, and taste just right. This morning’s batch was a winner. We were very happy campers.

Just like the Snoqualmie Falls Oatmeal Pancakes recipe I posted last month, these pancakes would be perfect on a crisp, autumn morning. It brings all the warm, fall flavors of a homemade pumpkin pie.

I used a ¼ cup to portion out my pancakes and I was able to make 14 pancakes. My son and daughter each had two and loved them while my son’s buddy, who slept over, came back for two more! Gotta love that kid. He’s one of my best guinea pigs! Always game for whatever I’m making.

If you wanted to prep these at home, you could prep your dry and load into a resealable bag and then prep your wet and load into a container that goes in your cooler. When you are ready to make the pancakes, combine the wet and dry.

Equipment
2-burner propane stove; griddle, preferably cast-iron; 2 medium bowls; sifter; whisk; pancake flipper; and measuring cups and spoons.

Ingredientspumpkin_pancakes_side_1_IMG_0694
1 cup flour
2 tablespoons baking powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon all spice
½ teaspoon ginger
½ teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons sugar
½ cup pumpkin puree (canned or fresh)
1 cup whole milk
2 eggs
2 tablespoons vegetable oil

Prep
In a mixing bowl, sift together dry ingredients. Set aside. In a second mixing bowl, whisk together wet ingredients. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and whisk just enough to combine. Don’t over mix.

Heat your griddle on medium heat and lightly grease the surface. I used a ¼ cup measuring cup to portion out my pancakes. When the pancakes have bubbles on top, the edges start to look dry, and the bottoms are a golden brown, flip them over and cook until they are a golden brown on both sides. Serve with butter and syrup and whatever else you like on your pancakes.

Makes about 14-15 ¼-cup pancakes.

pumpkin_pancakes_side_2_IMG_0697

This post has been shared at Homestead Blog Hop.

Categories: Breakfasts, Recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Perfect Pumpkin Spice Pancakes

  1. I adore pumpkin pancakes – they are my favorite!!

  2. Yum! Definitely want to try these after that debacle at the troop meeting. These look light and fluffly – as they should!

  3. Looks fantastic!❀❀❀

  4. Pingback: Homestead Blog Hop 12 - Simple Life Mom

What's Cooking?!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

