White Bean Chicken Chili

white_bean_chicken_chili_IMG_1634_690px

Last month, our Boy Scout troop was camping on the White River and one of my soon-to-be-eagle scouts made this soup for his patrol, the Screamin’ Eagles. The weekend was all about camping and working on the Cooking Merit Badge so our dinner Saturday night was served potluck style, which meant everyone got to try every dish. This soup was such a hit. I blinked and it was gone. I was grateful for the small cup I managed to get before it disappeared. And the scout, being the humble guy that he is, gave all the credit to his mom’s recipe. I reminded him; however, that he was the one who executed the recipe and he did a fantastic job.

I have to admit that I was a little concerned at first when I saw and smelled the amount of cilantro that goes in because I’m not a big cilantro fan. But after simmering 30 minutes, the cilantro really mellows out and provides the signature flavor of this dish. I’m not sure what it is about white beans, but for me, they are a comfort food. This is such a satisfying soup but it is also light so it’s perfect for a cold winter or warm summer night. When I made this a couple weekends later, I served it with my cornbread.

For the cornbread recipe, please see my blog post: “Cookie’s Killer Cornbread.”

It took me about 20 minutes to get everything prepped and then it was everyone into the pool. Bring it up to a boil and then turn the heat down and let it simmer for 30 minutes. It is that simple to make. Serve with cornbread, quesadillas, a cheese scone or biscuit, and a salad and you’ll have a great meal.

Equipment
4 quart Dutch oven or stockpot, strainer, cutting board, knife, stirring spoon and/or ladle, measuring spoons and cups.

Ingredients
2-2½ cups of chicken, cooked, fresh or 2 (13oz) cans (drained), diced or shredded
3 (14.5 oz) cans of white beans, drained and rinsed
2 (14.5 oz) cans of chicken broth
½ cup carrots, finely chopped
½ cup celery, finely chopped
½ cup red bell pepper, finely chopped
½ cup onion, finely chopped
¼ cup cilantro leaves, finely chopped
1 teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon garlic powder
½ teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon paprika

Prep
Prep all your ingredients. It took me about 20 minutes. Combine all the ingredients in the pot and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes.

Makes about 8 1-cup servings

This post has been shared at Homestead Bloggers Network. If you like this blog and don’t want to miss a single post, subscribe to Chuck Wagoneer by clicking on the Follow Us button in the upper right corner and follow us on Facebook and Pinterest for the latest updates and more stuff!

Categories: Main Dishes, Meals in 30 Minutes, Recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “White Bean Chicken Chili

  1. This style of chili is a favorite in our house!

  2. Update on the White Bean Chicken Chili! A blog follower and scouting friend of mine made it last night at a Cub Scout Pack chili cook off and he won!!! Woo Hoo! Go Dave!! Now I can say this is an award winning chili!!

What's Cooking?!

Blog at WordPress.com.

